When logged in, additional information is available in some parts of the website.

To investigate hard X-ray radiation with energies ranging from a few keV to several hundred keV, various detection methods are developed and utilized at the Helmholtz Institute. For example, diverse semiconductor detectors, crystal spectrometers and novel calorimeter systems are available for X-ray precision spectroscopy.

The above-mentioned devices are being employed in a wide range of applications at different photon and ion sources. At photon energies of a few keV, specially-designed crystal spectrometers are used for time-resolved X-ray diffractometry and high-precision polarization experiments at synchrotron sources, while the purpose of the FOCAL crystal spectrometer, for example, is to investigate the Lamb shift in highly-charged ions at the storage ring (photon energy about 60 keV).

Novel calorimeters constitute a promising development in the field of X-ray spectroscopy. Apart from their high resolution, which happens to be comparable to that of crystal spectrometers, they cover a broad spectral range (about 3 to 200 keV) and are thus suited for use at a multitude of scenarios and experiments.

To measure the linear polarization of X-ray radiation, novel segmented 2D semiconductor detectors based on silicon or germanium are employed. Possessing energy, spatial and temporal resolution, they allow to efficiently measure the polarization of X-ray radiation above 60 keV.

Compton polarimeters designed to measure the linear polarization of hard X-ray radiation.
Compton polarimeters designed to measure the linear polarization of hard X-ray radiation.

Nach der Anmeldung stehen Ihnen an einigen Stellen der Seite erweiterte Informationen zur Verfügung.

Zur Untersuchung harter Röntgenstrahlung im Bereich von wenigen keV bis einigen Hundert keV werden am Helmholtz-Institut unter­schiedliche Detektionsmethoden entwickelt und eingesetzt. So stehen für Röntgenpräzisionsspektroskopie Halbleiter­detektoren, Kristallspektrometer, aber auch neuartige Kalori­meter­systeme zur Verfügung.

Die oben genannten Instrumente finden eine breite Anwendung an den unterschiedlichsten Photonen- und Ionenquellen. Im Photonen­energiebereich von wenigen keV werden eigens entwickelte Kristall­spektrometer für die zeitaufgelöste Röntgenbeugung oder für Präzisionspolarisationsexperimente an Synchrotron­quellen  eingesetzt, während beispielweise das FOCAL-Kristall­spektrometer für die Unter­suchung der Lamb-Verschiebung in hoch­geladenen Ionen am Speicher­ring ausgelegt ist (Photonen­energie von ca. 60 keV).

Neuartige Kalorimeter stellen eine vielversprechende Entwicklung im Bereich der Röntgenspektroskopie dar. Neben der hohen Auflösung, welche mit Kristallspektrometern vergleichbar ist, decken sie einen breiten Spektralbereich ab (ca. 3 bis 200 keV) und können so zukünftig an den unterschiedlichsten Strahlplätzen und für die unterschiedlichsten Experimente eingesetzt werden.

Zur Messung der linearen Polarisation von Röntgenstrahlung kommen segmentierte neuartige 2D-Halbleiterdetektoren aus Silizium und Germanium zum Einsatz. Sie verfügen über Energie-, Orts- und Zeitauflösung und ermöglichen so eine effiziente Polarisationsmessung der Röntgenstrahlung ab 60 keV.

Compton-Polarimeter zur Messung der linearen Polarisation von harter Röntgenstrahlung.
Compton-Polarimeter zur Messung der linearen Polarisation von harter Röntgenstrahlung.