When logged in, additional information is available in some parts of the website.

Photon and Particle Spectroscopy:
Experiment and Theory

One of the core issues of the research conducted at Helmholtz Institute Jena is the theoretical and experimental investigation of effects of relativity and quantum electrodynamics at extreme field strengths, as they occur in heavy ions and intense laser fields.

On the experimental side, this notably encompasses the development of techniques to accurately detect high-energy particle and photon radiation. At precision spectroscopy, the Helmholtz Institute profits from its vicinity to Jena University, which possesses decades of experise in the field of crystal spectroscopy. Additionally, novel calorimeter systems for high-precision experiments in a wide range of photon energies will be at the Helmholtz Institute’s disposal in the future.

Apart from the investigation of X-ray radiation, the institute develops techniques for polarization-resolved measurements. For example, the linear polarization of hard X-ray radiation is investigated using novel efficient Compton polarimeters.

Spectroscopy at intense laser sources, with its extremely intense and short radiation pulses, poses a particular challenge. Here, too, new possibilites of X-ray diagnosis are researched and tested at the laser systems available.

Future facilities for laser and heavy ion research will offer new opportunities to investigate the interaction of radiation and matter in extreme fields. For these, theoretical groundwork regarding relativistic effects and QED contributions, for example to ionization processes, will have to be laid. Furthermore, the possibility to investigate parity violation in atomic transitions is examined theoretically.

Nach der Anmeldung stehen Ihnen an einigen Stellen der Seite erweiterte Informationen zur Verfügung.

Photonen- und Teilchenspektroskopie:
Experiment und Theorie

Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt des Helmholtz-Instituts Jena ist die experimentelle und theoretische Untersuchung der relativistischen und quantenelektrodynamischen Effekte bei extremen Feldstärken, wie sie bei Schwerionen oder in intensiven Laserfeldern auftreten

Auf der experimentellen Seite ist hier vor allem die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Techniken zum präzisen Nachweis von energie­reicher Teilchen- und vor allem Photonenstrahlung zu nennen. Bei der Präzisionsspektroskopie im Röntgenbereich profitiert das  Helmholtz-Institut von der Nähe zu der Universität Jena, welche über jahrzehntelange Expertise auf dem Feld der Kristall­spektros­kopie verfügt. Darüber hinaus stehen dem Helmholtz-Institut zukünftig neuartige Kalorimetersysteme für Präzisions­experimente in einem breiten Photonen­energiebereich zur Verfügung.  

Neben der spektralen Untersuchung von Röntgenstrahlung ent­wickelt das Institut auch Techniken für polarisationsaufgelöste Messungen. So stehen beispielsweise für die Untersuchung der linearen Polarisation von harter Röntgenstrahlung neuartige, effiziente Compton-Polarimeter zur Verfügung.

Die Spektroskopie an intensiven Laserquellen stellt aufgrund der extrem intensiven und kurzen Strahlungspulse eine besondere Herausforderung dar, auch hier werden neue Möglichkeiten der Röntgendiagnose untersucht und an den zur Verfügung stehenden Lasersystemen getestet.

An den zukünftigen Anlagen zur Laser- und Schwerionenforschung bieten sich neue Perspektiven zur Untersuchung der Wechselwirkung von Strahlung und Materie in extremen Feldern. Dazu sind theoretische Vorarbeiten von relativistischen Effekten und QED-Beiträgen, wie beispielsweise bei Ionisationsprozessen, notwendig.  Des Weiteren wird unter anderem die Möglichkeit der Untersuchung von Paritätsverletzung in atomaren Übergängen theoretisch behandelt.